Walter Umphrey Receives Texas Trial Lawyers Association Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted on Monday, December 7, 2015

Provost Umphrey's founding partner, Walter Umphrey, received the Texas Trial Lawyers Association Lifetime Achievement Award on Thursday, December 3, 2015 at the TTLA Annual Meeting. Umphrey is the fifth person to ever receive the award. Other recipients include Broadus Spivey - 2006, Tommy Jacks - 2007, George Chandler - 2009 and Mike Gallagher - 2011. Provost Umphrey attorneys Doug Sikes, Aaryn Giblin, D'Juana Parks, Jennifer Job, J. Keith Hyde, Michael Havard, Ronnie Turner, Darren Brown, James E. Payne, Edward Fisher, David Wilson, Zona Jones and Bryan Blevins were in attendance to support Umphrey.

Umphrey has had a storied career, with many significant verdicts. Most notably, he was chosen to lead the group of lawyers selected to represent the State of Texas against tobacco companies in the 1990's. The five trial lawyers won a $17.3 billion verdict in the case.

The 2015 TTLA Annual Meeting concluded Provost Umphrey equity partner Bryan Blevins' tenure at TTLA President. At the meeting, Blevins passed to the gavel to 2016 President Jeffrey Simon. Blevins also received the Michael T. Gallagher Award for Legislative Advocacy.

Congratulations to Walter Umphrey and Bryan Blevins on their accomplishments!

This entry was posted in no categories.

You must be logged in to post comments.